2012 SafeWork Awards Now Open

No votes yet

The 2012 WorkCover NSW SafeWork Awards are now open for entries.

While a safe and healthy workplace is a legal requirement for all NSW workplaces, these Awards specifically seek to recognise and reward those organisations and individuals who have gone the extra mile to make their workplaces an even safer environment.

These Awards also serve as an opportunity for colleagues and fellow professionals to share in improvements and innovations that foster a safer workplace.

If you have come up with an innovative solution that reduces workplace injuries or illness, or if you've developed a program or driven an activity aimed at improving work health and safety, it is easy to enter the awards.

Who can enter?

Entry is open to any NSW business, organisation, individual or not for profit operation. There are no entry fees and you may enter as many times as you want and in more than one category.

What are the categories?

There are four categories you can enter:

  • Best workplace health and safety management system
  • Best solution to an identified workplace health and safety issue
  • Best workplace health and safety practices in a small business
  • Best individual contribution to workplace health and safety

Enter now, it’s easy

Entrants are required to complete the online application process for each category entered. Accompany your application with any supporting documentation and address all selection criteria relating to the Award category you are entering.

Each category has a number of specific judging criteria that are explained within each relevant category. Entries may be submitted by individual applicants or organisations.

The judging process is as follows:

Stage 1: Initial review

All entries are reviewed by an internal assessment panel of occupational health and safety experts from WorkCover NSW. The role of this panel is to identify those entries, that are of sufficient quality to progress to the next stage of a site visit.

Stage 2: Site visit

Site visits are conducted by the assessment panel, made up of experienced WorkCover NSW Inspectors, specialists or authorised representative of WorkCover NSW. The role of the site visit is to substantiate the information provided in the entry. During site visits, the assessors may need to speak to a number of different people. Based on their on-site assessment they may also need to obtain additional information.

Stage 3: Judging

Following a successful site visit, entries then progress to the final stage of judging as a Finalist in their category. The Final Judging Panel will include senior representatives from WorkCover NSW, trade unions, employer groups and specialist OHS advisory bodies.

Applicants are advised the outcome of each stage of the judging process via a letter or email.

When will be the winners be announced?

The winners will be announced at a black tie event on Thursday 25 October, at The Westin, Sydney.

Visit www.safeworkawards.com.au or call 13 10 50 to enter or for more information. Entries close 8 June 2012.


Print this page Email This View RSS feeds Share to Twitter Share to Linkedin